ASA Service Award

Re-established in 2013, the ASA Service Award has been designed to recognize individuals or organizations that have distinguished themselves through outstanding dedication to the ASA’s mission of encouraging production and dissemination of knowledge about Africa.

ASA Service Award Winners (2013-Present)

2017 Elliot Fratkin (Smith College) and Sean Redding (Amherst College), African Studies Review

2016 Brenda Randolph, Africa Access

2015 Gillian Berchowitz, Ohio University Press

2015 Barbara Brown, Boston University

2015 Ali Ali-Dinar

2015 Kenneth W. Harrow, Michigan State University

2014 Indiana University Press

2014 Association of Concerned African Scholars

2014 Bill Minter, Africa Focus

2014 Aili Tripp, University of Wisconsin

2013 Lynne Rienner, Lynne Rienner Publishers

2013 Kassahun Checole, Africa World Press