You are here: Home Awards & Prizes Aidoo-Snyder Book Prize

Aidoo-Snyder Book Prize

Aidoo-Snyder Book Award

The Aidoo-Snyder book prize is awarded by the Women’s Caucus of the African Studies Association for an outstanding book that prioritizes African women’s experiences. Named in honor of Ama Ata Aidoo, the celebrated Ghanaian novelist and short story writer, and Margaret Snyder, the founding Director of UNIFEM, this $500 prize seeks to acknowledge the excellence of contemporary scholarship being produced by women about African women. In alternate years, the prize is awarded for the best scholarly book, or for the best creative work.

2014 Aidoo-Snyder Book Prize for Creative Work
The 2014 Aidoo-Snyder book prize will be given for the best original creative, non-academic work by a woman (or women) that prioritize African women’s experience.  To this end, the committee invites nominations of novels, plays, short stories, and poetry from publishers or authors. Self-published books are not eligible, and entries may only be submitted for consideration once. The prize is open to authors who have published books in English and English translation with a 2012 and 2013 copyright date. Nominations must significantly deal with Africa (including Cape Verde, and the Islands off the West Coast of Africa; Madagascar; and the Indian Ocean Islands of the East African Coast).

The 2014 Award Committee is:

Dr. Anthonia Kalu, Chair
Department of African American and African Studies
The Ohio State University
486K University Hall
230 North Oval Mall
Columbus, Ohio 43210 

Dr. Fahamisha Brown
Associate Professor Emerita
Metropolitan College of New York
178 Castleton Avenue #1-6
Staten Island, NY 10301-3033

Dr. Joyce Dixon-Fyle
Collection Development Coordinator
w.r.o. Professor,
Lower Level
Roy O. West Library
DePauw University Libraries
11 East Larabee Street
Greencastle, IN 46135

Please note that the deadline for submissions for the 2014 award has now passed. The winner will be notified in mid-September and included in the program for the African Studies Association Conference in November 2014.

Aidoo-Snyder Book Award Winners 2005-2013

2013, best scholarly book, Nwando Achebe, The Female King of Colonial Nigeria: Ahebi Ugbabe (Bloomington, Indiana:  Indiana University Press, 2011).
2012, best scholarly book, Adeline Masquelier, Women and Islamic Revival in a West African Town (Bloomington, Indiana: Indiana University Press, 2009).
2011, best creative work, Unoma Azuah, Length of Light: A Collection of Short Stories (2008), Sky-High Flames: A Novel (2005), and Edible Bones (December 2011).
2010, best creative work, Aminatta Forna, Ancestor Stones (2006)
2009, best scholarly book, Tuulikki Pietila, Gossip, Markets, and Gender: How Dialogue Constructs Moral Value in Post-Socialist Kilimanjaro, (Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin Press, 2007).
2008, best creative work, Ama Ata Aidoo, African Love Stories: An Anthology (2007)
2007, best scholarly book, Grace Bantebya-Kyomuhendo and Marjorie Keniston McIntosh, Women, Work, and Domestic Virtue in Uganda, 1900-2003 (Athens, OH: Ohio University Press, 2006).
2006, best creative work, Yvonne Vera, The Stone Virgins (2002).
2005, best scholarly book, Heidi J. Nast, Concubines and Power:  Five hundred Years in a Northern Nigerian Palace (Minneapolis, MN: University of Minnesota Press, 2005).

The Women's Caucus features a luncheon and lecture at the ASA Annual Meeting. Information on past Women's Caucus Speakers is available.

You can find more information about the Women's Caucus on their website.

Member Aid For Africa
African Studies Association is a participating member of Aid for Africa, a unique partnership of nonprofit organizations serving families and communities throughout Africa.
African Studies Association
Rutgers University - Livingston Campus
54 Joyce Kilmer Avenue
Piscataway, NJ 08854-8045
Tel: 848-445-8173
Fax: 732-445-1366